History of MSSA

The Multiple Sclerosis Society Inland Branch (MSSA) is a non-profit organisation that seeks to meet the needs of the MS community, which includes those with MS, as well as their loved ones, that are affected by the condition.

The MSSA was founded in 1966 by Dr Geoffrey Dean. It all began in Port Elizabeth, but today there are 3 branches, namely; the Inland Branch, the KZN branch and the Western Cape Branch. Dr Geoffrey Dean, received the Investiture of CBE (Commander of the Order of the British Empire) from the Queen of England.

He was 85 years of age at the time.

This was bestowed on him, largely due to his MS research and the significant role South Africa played in his findings. 

Sadly, Dr Geoffrey passed away on the 7 September 2009at the age of 90.